140 minutes, BetaSP, 4:3, colour, PAL

CAGE is the original version of State of Grace, 1993. It is closer to my personal perspective, very sensual and after seeing it for 140 minutes you feel free to continue. John Cage died in New York in the middle of our work in August 1992.

Michael Pilz, April, 2009

» buy this film

Original title Cage
English title Cage
Produced by Michael Pilz
Concept and realization by Michael Pilz
Cinematography by Michael Pilz
Original sound by Michael Pilz
Edited by Michael Pilz
Music by John Cage, Claude Debussy, Arvo Pärt, Domenico Scarlatti, Giacinto Scelsi
Piano by Cecilia Li
Featuring Alessandra Palma di Cesnola, Linda Forsman, Raffaela Giordano, Ruth Golic, Christophe Haleb, István Horváth, Dorothea Häbner, Ferenc Kálmán, Barbara Kryslova, Joel Luecht, Sebastian Prantl, Giorgio Rossi, Beverly Sandwith, Miklos Visontai
Symposium's concept by Sebastian Prantl (dance), Cecilia Li (music), Michael Pilz (film)

Austria 1992
Language English, German, Italian, Hungarian

First public screening Diagonale, Festival of Austrian Films, Graz, 4 April, 2008

Festivals and specials Diagonale, Graz/Austria, Austrian Filmmuseum Vienna, personal retrospective, November 2008

Copyright by Michael Pilz Film
A-1180 Vienna/Austria
Teschnergasse 37
Phone +43.699.11336581